Facebook is used by people all around the world to stay in touch with friends and family, as well as start meaningless arguments with strangers over mediocre videos.
But, although some people view social media as a necessary component of life, others are alarmed by data breaches and privacy concerns.
It's simple to deactivate your Facebook account if you no longer want to use it. Your entire Facebook profile is hidden when you deactivate your account. You won't be accessible on Facebook, and no one will be able to see your Timeline, status changes, or shared images.
Deactivating your account does not, however, completely remove it. When you deactivate your account, Facebook stores all of your preferences, pictures, and data in case you decide to reinstate it later.
Your information is not lost; it is merely obscured. Luckily, you can delete a Facebook account without a chance of recovery.
How to delete your Facebook account from a browser?
Deleting a Facebook account is simpler than you would imagine. To access the page to terminate your account, go to facebook.com/help/delete_account.
Your account is permanently deleted after you click Delete Account and enter your password.
But before you do, you might think about downloading a copy of the data you saved on Facebook, such as images, videos, and more.
How to delete a Facebook account from the iPhone and Android app?
Whether you are an iPhone or Android user, you can delete your Facebook account by following the steps below:
- Launch your iPhone's Facebook app
- Tap on the three-lined icon (also known as the hamburger menu)
- Next, select Privacy & Settings
- Choose Settings
- Select Account Ownership and Control.
- Tap on the Deactivation and Deletion option
- Click Delete Account.
- To be safe, remove the Facebook app.
How to delete a Facebook account that belongs to someone else?
Without logging in, you cannot remove someone else's account. Yet, you can block people from Facebook, even minors, since Facebook forbids users under 13 to abide by the law.
Report the account to inform Facebook that the person is under 13 years old. Facebook immediately deletes an account without notifying anyone if it can "reasonably establish" that it belongs to an underage person.
If Facebook has granted permission, a legacy contact—a Facebook friend or relative named by the account owner before they passed away—can see a deceased user's timeline.
A link to an obituary or other relevant documentation, such as a death certificate, may be required from the legacy contact. Facebook can "memorialize" the page, allowing the legacy contact to maintain authority over the deceased's timeline.
While they cannot post in the deceased's place, they can control the profile picture and cover photo, any memorial posts left by other friends, and any friend requests issued on the deceased's behalf. Above the person's name on the page will be the word "Remembering."
But, if the legacy contact would prefer, they can request that the page be permanently deleted.
How to undelete a Facebook account?
According to Facebook, it may take up to 90 days from the beginning of the deletion request for all of your posts to be completely deleted.
As part of its data policy, it might even preserve some data in backup storage for legal reasons. In addition, it provides a 30-day grace period following account erasure.
Here's how to stop the deletion of your account within 30 days:
- Enter your Facebook login information
- Activate Cancel Deletion
The cons of deleting your Facebook account
Undoubtedly, being able to delete a Facebook account might feel liberating. Managing your privacy or consuming what seems like an unending amount of social media content won’t be your problem anymore.
However, some users decide to take a break from Facebook by deactivating their account rather than having it permanently deleted for the following reasons:
- If you don't make a new account, you won't be able to use Facebook again.
- Without a Facebook account, Messenger cannot be used.
- There's a chance that some of the accounts you logged into using Facebook won't work. Getting in touch with those apps and websites or opening fresh accounts could be necessary.
- Your data will be lost forever if you don't download a copy.
- Your Facebook login-related Oculus app purchases, achievements, and more will be lost.
Over the years, Facebook's reputation has suffered numerous setbacks, with privacy and false information being major contributors. Whether you no longer feel comfortable signing in or have lost faith in this platform, you might be looking for a way to get rid of your Facebook account.
In this guide, we covered the steps to delete a Facebook account. However, it’s vital to remember that deleting your account will also remove all of your achievements, Oculus purchases, and controlled posts, images, videos, and sites.
Moreover, Messenger will no longer be available, and any apps you previously used with Facebook Login (like Spotify or Pinterest) will require recovery through those websites.
People also read:
- How to delete your data from Google
- How To Delete Your Snapchat Account Permanently
- How to Delete an Amazon Account
- How to Delete an Instagram account
Do you value your privacy online?
Use VPN Surf and surf safely and securely in the open waters of the internet.